Christmas Fairs, Noam Chomsky, Fantastic, Chris Monroe

Dear Diary,

Today I braved the Duluth Christmas fair circuit and followed Mary to the Peace church, The Knife River Christmas village, and the Glensheen Mansion Christmas village. The Villages were both over-crowded and dull. The Peace Church event had some half way decent art, along with the usual little seasonal homemade things that hurt to look at after a few minutes. Fortunately they had a comfy couch upstairs so I could drink coffee and stare at my phone while Mary finished up.

I did meet someone interesting, a children’s book author and illustrator, a successful one, Chris Monroe. It’s easy to assume she was just there selling some self-published stacks of books like many of the other authors at craft fairs, but I learned that not only  has she been reviewed in the New York Times, one of her books has been optioned by Disney. If my daughter wasn’t nineteen I might be familiar with her work. We bought some of her art, but I can’t say which one, just in case my daughter reads this, however unlikely.

In other news, there’s not much to report. I need to do some cleaning to get ready for a Noam Chomsky birthday party we are having on the 7th, inspired by the movie Captain Fantastic (worth seeing). Last night we saw the latest J.K. Rowling movie and were pleasantly entertained. The baker was a little over the top in places, but oh well.

Leave a Reply

